The 2018 Edition Of The Ryder Cup

by Punter's Hero on September 11, 2018

in Cricket

The Ryders Cup 2018Between the 25th and 30th September, the 2018 edition of the Ryder Cup will be held at the Albatros Course at the Le Golf National in Paris. The tournament attracts some of the top talents of the two continents, who aim to win the coveted cup for their home nation. In order to better understand what is at stake in this competition, it’s a good idea to learn where it all began.

History Of The Cup

The competition started in 1927 and originally involved two teams, one representing the United States and the other representing Great Britain. Samuel Ryder, a successful English businessman, donated the cup to the championship and as a result, it was named after him. The very first event was held in the US at the Worcester Country Club in Massachusetts.

The Ryder Cup has since been organized every second year. In 2001, due to the September 11 attacks on America, it was delayed a year. Since then, instead of occurring on an odd number year it started being held on an even number year.

In 1979, the rest of Europe joined Great Britain in representing the continent. This was done, amongst other reasons, to improve their chances against the dominant US teams. This proved to be a successful move as, since then Europe won the tournament a total of 10 times, whilst the US won it 8 times.

In the previous edition, held in 2016, the Americans won their latest title with a score of 17 against Europe’s 11. The championship was held at the Hazeltine National Golf Club in Minnesota.


The selection of the two teams is somewhat different between the two continents. Each team consists of 12 professional players. Europe selects the members of its team in 3 different ways. The top 4 players in the European Points List are the first to be added to the team. Then, the next 4 players who make up the 4 players from the World Points List are added. Finally, 4 random, wild picks are chosen.

America’s selection process is a lot simpler. The highest ranking 8 players according to their points are automatically part of the team. However, who the remaining 4 players will be is up to the discretion of the team’s captain.

This year’s edition will see a strong European team, led by the English number 1, Tyrrell Hatton. The young star is full of potential, having already won the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship two years in a row, in 2016 and 2017, amongst other competitions.

Each player in Europe’s top 3 spots is British, with Justin Rose and Tommy Fleetwood following Hatton. Then, the list becomes a lot more continental, with Italy’s Francesco Molinari, Spain’s John Rahm and Sweden’s Alex Noren in 4th, 5th and 6th rank respectively.

America’s Brooks Koepka is no stranger to the Ryder Cup, with his debut of 3-1-0 at Hazeltine. He will be joined by the 2nd highest ranked player in the world, Dustin Johnson. Meanwhile, the very energetic Patrick Reed is number 3 in the team. He is followed by Justin Thomas, who in 4th place is eager to show what having a professional golf dad and grandad can do to a talented golfer.

Betting On The Ryder Cup

Punters who wish to be part of the action can do so by placing a wager on the team they think is going to take home the cup. There are numerous online casinos which offer a sportsbook and allow bets on this prestigious cup.

Currently, the odds are in slight favor of the Americans, but the Europeans are following closely. Players who enjoy wagering on wild and unexpected events can also choose to wager on the two teams ending in a tie. Whilst this event is rare, it has happened a few times in the past.

Winner’s Prize

Surprisingly, for such a high profile event involving some of the best golfers in the world, there is no prize money awarded to the winners. Instead, they have the prestige that comes with being winners and the ability to hold on to the cup until the next event.

Offer valid as of date published. T&Cs apply.

Previous post:

Next post: